Quarantine art challenge series

Compilation of several digital illustrations, 1033px × 932px; one marker and watercolour on post-it note, appx 60mm x 60mm.

It is announced that lockdown will be lifted by next week. Since it has come to this, I thought I would share a series of doodles, which are part of a compilation consisting of others’ works as well.

Flashback to late March/ early April this year: just when my committee and I planned out events and stuff for the art society we already had to throw them out of the window when the lockdown was announced. Everyone was locked in their houses and morale was at a new low. I was very proud of a committee member (now the new president) suggested something that would involve our committee members in these hard times. “The rule is simple: We give you a theme, you send us a sketch!” as seen on our society’s Instagram page. To our relief, this was an overwhelming success as we received a fair amount of submissions (which can be seen in the Instagram page’s moments).

Below are the themes we set out over the course of 8 days:

I admit that most of these are rougher around the edge compared to the quality of art I post on this blog but I gave me an opportunity to explore more of digital art, which I have not been experimenting much with but also I think as part of a compilation with a larger community, it is heartwarming and wholesome to see artists come together in times like this to produce amazing art to lift each other’s spirits. I cannot deny that I am proud of being part of this community (and also proud to have a capable president in charge of the society next year.)

Tell me what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.