Mini Portrait Collection

All dimensions of the paper used are 150mm X 150mm.

A week ago I managed set up a portrait drawing stall at a flea market with a friend. A few weeks before that I was freaking out because I was way too rusty to draw portraits because I was too lazy to draw in the months before that (hence also the inactivity of the blog). To get back into shape, I’ve been frantically practising to get my accuracy and timing acceptable. Here are a few of them which I’d like to share. (Not in chronological order.)

img_20161109_205449.jpg

Brown Parcel Paper, 2B Pencil and Watercolour with Brush

This was the first time that I’d properly used white watercolour paint. (Never knew that that day would come.) With a darker background that acts as the mid-tone of the portrait, I think the white watercolour paint helped to highlight the contours of her face. It reminds me of using chalk on a dark piece of paper back in my A level life drawing days. I’d like to explore this in the future.
4g9c1ees4urbbceaqnt4mhwf.jpg

Grey Sugar Paper, 2B Pencil and Watercolour with Brush

Trying out my clean line draying style here with define lines so it does not look visually messy. (I’ll admit that I messed up the eyebrows there.)
6hs2fbewberbk65rfdwbxtqu.jpg

Grey Sugar Paper, 2B Pencil

03sfg0lkljkd9sa7b0psagrb.jpg

Grey Sugar Paper, 2B Pencil

A more messy, sketchy and expressive style which I felt more comfortable with.3rbnjp8fybayewnheff2ahfe.jpg

White Cartridge Paper, 2B Pencil and Watercolour with Brush

 

8bhr7btbnftvjvvqurrdk4y7.jpg

Brown Parcel Paper, 2B Pencil and Watercolour with Brushimg_20161120_105842.jpg

White Cartridge Paper, 2B Pencil and Watercolour with Brush

Last but not least, this was probably my most favourite one out of all the practices. The pencil marks were halfway between clean lines and expressive strokes (see the face and the hair). Trying to use anything but black for the hair (as my A level art teachers strongly discouraged it), it managed to give the hair a more complex texture as different shades of brown and blue overlap each other to give it a sense of depth. My favourite feature would be the watercolour lips as they proved to be more subtle than if it were to be portrayed with pencil and its hue gently brightens up the portrait in contrast to the brown/blue hair and the azure eyes.

Leave a Reply

