Digital Art: First Impressions and Practising

Digital Media – ArtRage Lite

The following sketches were done on a Wacom Intros Draw. My interest in digital art has been around in my primary school days when browsing on DeviantArt. Recently I was quite curious of it that I purchased a pad to draw on. These are the first four sketches I had produced as a form of practise and feeling around to familiarise myself with the media with Quickposes (again). The sketches below are in chronological order as to when they were drawn.
Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 16.45.35 Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 17.00.07Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 17.08.37Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 17.14.23

In my opinion, the hardest part would be having the lines where I actually would want them to be. I tend to stare at my tablet too much instead of looking at the screen where it displays what I draw, resulting in lines out of place, not to their respective angles, etc. My friend Harry reminded me of my art teachers “draw what you see, not what you think”, which I think is applicable to improving my digital techniques.

I intend to practise more on line drawing with my pad until it is about the same calibre as of my traditional counterparts before I move onto shading and colouring. (Do leave comments on how I could improve if you please 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

