Touhou Project: Hakurei Reimu

135mm X 212mm, Watercolour and HB Pencil

This was one of my first attempts to combine pencil with watercolour as I thought it would be difficult to paint in watercolour accurately without the use of markings – something which I should work on to improve myself.

The painting is a sister piece to Touhou Project: Kirisame Marisa and was the first of the two to be painted (I apologise for not posting this earlier last year). As I had mentioned in that post, this is a direct study of another artist’s artwork. As this was just a portrait of Reimu floating in the middle of nothing, I move on to Maria’s portrait where the composition is more complex to test my limits of manipulating the media.

 

Leave a Reply

