Cat Compilation -Mental Therapy Use Only-

Scan

 

135cm X 212cm

I’m a cat person, but I’m allergic to cats. 😦 So I decided to have a cat section in Claire, my blue hard-covered sketchbook (you can see her in the About page), as an emergency morale booster when I am close to a mental breakdown or a sanity restore when I’m close to losing it and fainting like Daniel from Amnesia: The Dark Descent.

All of the cats portrayed aren’t mine nor of someone I know – they’re just cats I found on the Internet which I really adore. 🙂 The first cat is drawn in charcoal pencil a fellow Moldovan comrade gave me as a gift during my visit to her lovely country. I think the charcoal pencil is effective in creating a variety of tones just from a small range of pressures applied, so it is able to create fuzzy textures (mainly because it was blunt when I used it) that layer on top of each other, creating a sense of depth.
Scan 1

Purple felt tip pen. For this fuzzy cat, I think this is quite effective since the fine lines created by the felt tip could easily imitate the long strands of fur of the cat. In addition to that, it also makes it look more ridiculous mainly due to there not being purple cats around and that it’s sticking its tongue out and derping about.
Scan copyFinally the last cat is done by black ball point pen. I would say that it is quite similar to the felt tip pen but it has got more harsh and heavy lines that make the cat look slightly more solid than purple cat. Apologies for badly drawn toilet.

 

Leave a Reply

